FEBRUARY Titles for Adults

Dear Diary & To Whom It May Concern

 

Courtney's Pick

The Chilbury Ladies’ Choir
by Jennifer Ryan
Letters and journals reveal the struggles and triumphs of a small village choir during World War II in this enchanting ensemble story. All seems lost after men in the village leave to fight, and five women come together to use music and friendship to survive the upheavals of war and village intrigue.

Kortney's Pick

Ultimate Papercraft Bible: A Complete Reference with Step-by-Step Techniques
Take your letters and diaries to the next level with embellishments and crafting through the detailed instructions in this title. Many of the techniques only require a few supplies - paper, scissors, and glue. Learn about scrapbooking, the ultimate visual diary. 

Nancy's Pick

The History and Uncertain Future of Handwriting
by  Anne Trubek
I was pen pals for many years with my Auntie Em, a retired schoolteacher. She taught and applauded my efforts, practice, and discipline with the Palmer Method of handwriting and its “walking cane” capital letters. Mastering the efficient and aesthetically pleasing method was a source of personal pride and letter-writing forged a strong connection with my older relatives. Trubek discusses our rapid transition away from handwriting, our emotional connections to it, and whether it should continue to be taught in school.

Randall's Pick

Piranesi
by Susanna Clarke
Inventive and otherworldly, Piranesi reads like a series of found journal entries. This inventive tale, with its blend of mystery and fantasy, will appeal to readers of Erin Morgenstern and V. E. Schwab.

Sandy's Pick

Dear Fahrenheit 451
by Annie Spence
Read through a librarian's letters to the books in her life.  Sometimes heartfelt, sometimes racy, always funny; this short non-fiction is a delightful way to create your own "To Be Read" list.

Vanessa's Pick

Gone Girl
DVD
When a woman goes missing on her fifth wedding anniversary, her diary reveals hidden turmoil in her marriage, while her husband, desperate to clear himself of suspicion, realizes that something more disturbing than murder may have occurred. The twists and turns had me on the edge of my seat until the very end of the movie.

Victoria's Pick

Meet Me at the Museum
by Anne Youngson
In this charming almost-love story a farmer’s wife and a museum curator foster an unlikely friendship over an archaeological marvel, the Tollund Man. Though separated by distance and circumstance, their letters to each other reveal their deepest musings and the hope that they can alter the course of their lives.

  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7