Mayor & Town Council


  • First and third Tuesday of the month at 8:00 a.m. 
  • Council Chamber/Court Room
    4700 Drexel Dr.
    Highland Park, Texas 75205

All meetings are open to the public. The Town Council appoints all boards and committees of the Town.


Town Council Agendas 


  • Margo Goodwin, Mayor
  • John McKnight, Mayor Pro Tem
  • David L. Dowler, Town Council Member
  • Eric Gambrell, Town Council Member
  • Jimmy Grisham, Town Council Member
  • Craig Penfold, Town Council Member

Email the Town Council

About the Town Council

In 1975, the Town adopted a Home Rule Charter that calls for a Council/Manager form of government consisting of a Mayor and five Town Council Members. A municipal election for the Mayor and Town Council is held on the first Saturday in May of even-numbered years.

Elections & Appointments

All members are elected at-large and serve without compensation. Each member is limited to three successive two-year terms of office. The Mayor ProTem is appointed by the Mayor with the concurrence of the Town Council. In addition, the Mayor and Town Council appoint the Town Administrator, the Town Attorney, the Municipal Court Judge, the Town’s Local Health Authority, and the Town Secretary.